Mental Health Days…

Good health is more than just exercise and diet. It’s really a point of view and a mental attitude you have about yourself. -Albert Schweitzer

One of my friends Patrick, had been given the same deal as his two older siblings, the same that his two younger ones will get. Every semester they are given a mental health day, one day where they can just not go to school, a get out of jail card. The reasons why to take a mental health day could vary so often, one time he took it after his girlfriend and him had just broken up, another was when we were in year 10 and skipped school to line up for the Coldplay concert.

When in high school I was given the freedom by my parents to make my own choices, and in turn be responsible for them. So yes there were days when i didn’t get out of bed and go to school, choosing to do my work from my bed and far away from the stress of the school grounds, the days when i’d have 2 classes but because my parents worked i’d have to be at school from 9am till 5pm, so i wouldn’t go but i’d make it up. I’d be able to do the work from home, or go into the library on a study night and chat with my teachers.

But since I started full time work 11 months ago I have never taken a day off because I couldn’t be bothered, in the past 9 months I’ve missed 2 days of work due to food poisoning. But today, today I ignored my alarm, texted my boss and went back to sleep for three hours. It’s not much, it’s not going to help in the long term but as of right now it’s just what I need, a day where I have no plans, no extraneous chores and no one to bother me. I have books and journals and tea and candles, and i’m not leaving the sanctuary of my covers all day.

So here’s to today, to my unproductively and my sore body (brain and limbs), to an unlimited amount of me time and to nothing. heres to doing absolutely nothing.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

